The Best Is Yet To Come

Happy New Year!

2013…WOW

A decade ago, I was an awkward 7th grader adjusting to so many changes like boys, cliques and mean girls, my body, etc. I had no idea who I was as a person; I had no sense of fashion. Well 10 years later, I can happily say that I know who I am (for the most part). I am a 22 year old young woman who is: funny, outgoing, smart, caring, and confident. I’ve endured some really hard things but I wouldn’t take them back because I am wiser and stronger for having overcome them. AND I have one heck of a sense of style! If you had asked me 10 years ago where I saw myself in the year 2013, I would have probably said that I have graduated from an ivy league school and am in my first semester of law school. BTW I was obsessed with the movie “Legally Blonde” when I was 13 and wanted to be a lawyer like Elle Woods. That movie made being a lawyer look like fun and Elle, Reese Witherspoon‘s character was quite fashionable.

If someone would have told me when I was 13 that in 10 years, I would not only be working in fashion at Michael Kors, but have my OWN fashion blog and be “The Passionate Fashionista,” I would have said “Yeah right.”

FAST FORWARD 10 YEARS

1. I have my first “Big Girl” job working as a sales associate at Michael Kors

FSCN1337 (2)

2.  I was accepted into Teen Vogue Fashion University for the 2nd year in a row, where a woman named Grace Coddington aka Creative Director of Vogue magazine (NBD) ignited a spark in me to become more involved in Fashion.

a_4x

Me, and 2 other attendees all sporting a “top-knot” at Teen Vogue Fashion U 2012

Photo was featured and is courtesy of NY Magazine

http://nymag.com/thecut/2012/10/fashions-future-stars-at-teen-vogue-university.html

3.  Finally that new flame lead me to create my own blog, “The Passionate Fashionista”

167336942376427965_OqdBMN8F_c

**Starting this blog has made me remember how much I enjoy writing and has allowed me to think outside the box on what to write about next; my creativity side has been rediscovered.**

2012 was the year I grew up. I went from being a girl who loved fashion to a young woman who pursued her interest in fashion and is going to make it a career. I tried new things; stepped out of my comfort zone which was terrifying but now I am glad I did. The chances and risks I took lead to bigger and better things. In 2012, I feel like I proved a lot to myself, but  2012 was just my beginning.

119063983868646020_eXG6egIp_b

2013, what’s next?

I did not get to this point in my life without a lot of hard work because like most jobs, in the fashion industry, you have to start at the bottom and work your way up the ladder. I am on the ladder but I want to climb even higher. Currently, I have a few career related ideas in the works but my lips are sealed or now. I will also continue to blog. Having a blog and keeping up with it may be stressful to some people but not for me. Blogging is an outlet for me. It allows me to write and share my passion for fashion with you. Honestly if I got paid to blog, that would be a dream job. I like interacting with you guys and love new comments or suggestions of what you want me to blog about. I was even thinking of having some sort of “Ask the Passionate Fashionista” series where you guys could send me your questions and I would respond to a few once a week.

WHAT DO YOU GUYS THINK OF HAVING AN “ASK THE PASSIONATE FASHIONISTA” SERIES?

I would also like to let you guys know that I have 2 pages filled with topics I want to blog about, so keep on reading because:

IMG_0896

I think I can say that when it comes to a lot of aspects of my life. I can’t wait to enjoy the ride.

XOXO

The Passionate Fashionista

3 comments

  1. FreeUrCloset · January 3, 2013

    Super post..and your “question/answer” series is a great idea.
    xo Natasha

  2. caroline1t · January 4, 2013

    It’s all FABULOUS!!!!

  3. Hayley Kornman · January 4, 2013

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

