Queen of Style

Queen of Style

FSCN1181

My Grandmother Circa 1960’s

Mary Llewellyn Wilmer was truly a “Queen of Style.”  Everything from the Yves St Laurent pant suits that hung in her closet, to her jewelry and fabulous fur coats; she made fashion look easy. She had an amazing “dressing room” which included 2 huge walk in closets and a built in vanity on which sat her expensive perfumes.  

“Rara,” as I referred to my grandmother, was in every sense a true lady. She was poised, graceful, and dressed the part. Rara was a wonderful grandmother and an amazing mother to my mom.  My mom often recounts memories from her childhood of fabulous parties that my grandmother hosted, and glamorous trips that they would take.

But behind the glitz and glamour, there was a mother and daughter (my mom). A mother who called my mom her “rock.”

I credit my grandmother with passing on her love of fashion to my mother who in turn  passed it on to me. I truly believe she had a role in me becoming “The Passionate Fashionista.”

 You also raised a wonderful daughter who I am proud to call my mom.

tumblr_luhd2hZk7l1qardeao1_500

This outfit reminds me of something you would wear….

Rara, you taught me to climb up the steps in one weekend, how to play gin rummy, and always had a smile on your face. I can still hear your laugh…Every time I came to see you, you would always say: goodbye darlin’, as I walked out the door. And then came the time to say goodbye darlin’ to you…

I had the honor of being your granddaughter for 16 years, and I am a better young woman for having had you in my life. I miss you.

But my mom always says that your are drinkin’ one of your “tini’s” and looking down on us.

IMG_0704You and Elizabeth Taylor could have been related.

So, I would like to raise a glass to you for being such a wonderful mother and grandmother, “Cheers

I’ll see you soon darlin’

xoxo The Passionate Fashionista

This post is dedicated to Rara who would have turned 87 on November 29th. RIP

3 comments

  1. McKenna · December 8, 2012

    Rara would be proud!

  2. Adair Kornman · December 8, 2012

    What a wonderful tribute to my mother. I know she loves it too.

  3. Hayley Kornman · December 8, 2012

    Thanks mom, that means a lot!

Leave a Reply

